Book Review: Outlander (Book #1) Diana Gabaldon

I will admit right off, I started reading this when I first found out about the Starz show. By the end of the first half of the show I was more than half way through the book, the actual paperback not a kindle version. This book is definetly a roller coaster ride. I love history and this has history, romance, suspense, time travel, sic-fi and some other things good, bad and odd. At the time I read this I had just found out I have some Scottish blood on my mothers side so the era struck a cord with me. The characters are wonderfully developed steeped in history and a good sense of accuracy all around. While some of the passages are very hard to read it is written well. You have to keep in mind the era was far different than that of the modern 2000’s. While some things never change, others changed drastically or were simply never written or talked about in public so it seems taboo or unheard of. The every day life and struggles of the long ago eras of the Highlanders are fascinating and you wish there was something you could do to step through time yourself and save all the blood shed and the loss of a culture. The book, as usual has differences (and thank goodness) from the Starz show. You will fall in love with the characters, settings and story pretty quickly. I feel this way too when I read American Indian stories of the post Civil War era in America. If this too sounds like you, I also recommend this book: How the Scots Invented the Modern World: The True Story of How Western Europe’s Poorest Nation Created Our World and Everything in It

(read 9/15/14)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Outlander (Book #1) Diana Gabaldon

  1. I am about halfway through the novel and I agree–written well but has good, bad, and odd aspects! I’m not entirely sure I’ll get through the entire series…at least not anytime soon!
    Hope you’ll also check out THE WAITING ROOM, my debut novel 🙂

    • I am attempting Dragonfly in Amber. It’s slow going because it’s a paperback and small but it is a large book. I may have more luck with the kindle version. I am a fast reader but just slow on these for some reason. It will take me a while as well but I will make it. I will check out the novel for sure!

Leave a Reply

