Book Review: The Good, The Bad and Me: In My Anecdotage- Eli Wallach

This is a truly wonderful read. Eli has been a favorite actor of mine for years and has always completely fascinated me. Reading about his life, his era and the intertwining he had with some of Hollywood’s biggest stars was special. I wanted this book to continue and never end. I think Eli was a special person, actor and truly one of the last great actors of the golden era. This book was at times hard for me to put down and hard for me to read as well. It’s been a year since his passing and until recently I wasn’t able to even see his movies without tearing up. In many ways, this book, Eli’s life later in years, mirrors his role in “The Holiday”, staring Oscar winner, Kate Winslet. Eli played the character Arthur Abbott, a widowed, retired screen writer from the golden age of movies in Hollywood. This book in my opinion is similar to that character. Eli, always reminded me of my dad and things my dad has or would do, especially the character of Tuco. I’m glad I read it and I will enjoy reading it again and again. If you are looking for a window into Hollywood and Broadway’s past and you enjoy a good laugh you should read this book. You will not be disappointed. Thank You Eli for leaving the world a wonderful piece of your life with us to remember you by in your own words. 

read 5/14/15 reviewed 5/14/15, posted 8/14/15

Leave a Reply

